Camas Athletic Hall of Fame 2012

timestamp icon
category icon Sports

The Camas Athletic Hall of Fame Committee recently announced the 2012 scholar athletes, individuals, coaches and teams that will be included in this year’s honors. The induction ceremony will take place Saturday, Sept. 29, at Camas High School.

Hall of Fame Chairwoman Marcia Johnson is asking for family members and friends to speak on behalf of the inducees. Contact her at 921-3557 or

Scholar Athlete

Mike Sharp (1955-57) — This all-around athlete played basketball, football, baseball and track and field. He was a two-year varsity starter in basketball, averaged 20 points a game during his senior year and was selected as an All Southwest Washington Player. He made the all-league teams in basketball and baseball. He played basketball at the University of Washington.


Kenny Dunn (1945-48) — A three-year letterman in football, basketball and baseball. He played in the first CHS football state playoff game in Seattle, and was the first Papermaker to be selected to the all-state team. He also became a starting fullback at the University of Washington.

Jim Newquist (1937-40) — Nicknamed “The Camas Flash” for all he could do on the football field, Newquist ran, passed and kicked the punts and extra points. He also blocked and tackled for his teammates. He was the starting halfback for the undefeated 1937 team during his sophomore year. He scored 132 points in seven games as a junior, which ranked second in the state and fifth nationally. In 1941, he continued to run, pass and kick the football for the University of Oregon. He served in the Navy Air Corps during World War II, before he returned to Oregon and played football in 1946 and 47.

Karrie Rider (1993-96) — Rider was an all-around athlete who received several all-league honors and rewards in volleyball, basketball and softball. She played shortstop for four years at Mississippi State, semi-pro ball for two years with the Stratford Braketts and four years professionally with the Ohio Pride and the Texas Thunder. She was also an assistant coach at Harvard and the University of Missouri. She has been a private instructor in Texas, New Mexico and Colorado for the past seven years.

Pete Myers (1970-73) — He became the first CHS state champion in any sport, when he captured the 148-pound state wrestling title in 1973.

Jerry Gabrio — A three-year letterman in football and track and field, he became a state javelin throwing champion in 1977. He was also the starting quarterback for two years. During his senior year, he was selected as the starting quarterback for Clark County in an all-star game against Cowlitz County. He continued his track and field career at the University of Washington.

Jonathan Carlson (1999-2002) — He was a member of the soccer team that won the league title for the first time when he was a freshman, and finished third in the state when he was a senior. He was the Greater St. Helen’s League MVP in 2001, and the GSHL Player of the Year in 2002. He still holds the school record with 58 career assists. Carlson also excelled on the football field for the Papermakers, as a running back and a defensive back. In 2001, he was named the GSHL Player of the Year. Carlson continued his soccer career at Whitworth College. He was selected to the NCAA Division III Final Four All-Tournament Team in 2005. He also led Whitworth back to the Final Four in 2006.

Lloyd Stoller (1983-86) — He lettered in football, basketball and track and field. He became the first CHS track athlete to qualify for state in four events. He finished second in the state in the high jump during his senior year, and he still holds the school’s high jump record of 6 feet, 9.75 inches. He was selected as the 1986 Athlete of the Year in the Post-Record. He was also a member of the Washington High School track team that competed in China. He continued his track career at Washington State University.


1984 boys basketball team — This team of Papermakers upset Longview and Vancouver to capture the Southwest Washington District Championship with a record of 15 wins and four losses. They became the first basketball team from Camas to reach the state tournament, since its inception in 1923. Four members from this team coached by Clay Fox were named Southwest Washington League All-Stars. Team captain Loren Rainey was selected to the first team, Dick Schimel to the second team, and both Bob O’Hara and Kenny Meyer were honorable mentions.

2002 softball team — These Papermakers captured the state championship with a 23-3 record. At the state tournament, they defeated two unbeaten teams in Sedro Wolley and W.F. West. The 10 seniors on the team shared a 87-19 record during their four years at CHS. Players were Dianna Anderson, Ashley Barber, Jessie Buck, Becky Cervantes, Mandy Cervantes, Brenna Daughterty, Jessica Ellibee, Lisa Langmade, Ashleigh Marquardt, Stacie Mattson, Kristi Peppel, Sheena Salsberry, Kim Scurrah, Katie Simpson, Jessica Williams and Rachel Williams. Ted Buck, Don Chaney, Russ Barber and Michelle Beardsher were the coaches. Nikko Listek and Joe Stevenson were the managers.


Walter Erickson (1933-38) — As a CHS football coach for six years, he compiled a record of 40 wins, 16 losses and 2 ties. He was a coach who believed, “It’s not whether you win or lose, but how you play the game.”

Hall of Honor

Dale Croswell — Has been “The Voice” of the Camas Papermaker football team for 31 seasons. Famous for his phrase, “Hold everything, there’s a flag on the play.” In 2011, the press box at Doc Harris Stadium was named the “Cros Nest.”