Candidate filing period starts Monday

Several local positions will be on the ballot

The filing period for citizens wishing to become candidates for elective office open on Monday.

The in-person period to file a declaration of candidacy will begin at 8 a.m., Monday, May 13 and runs through 5 p.m., Friday, May 17. Candidates wishing to file for office in person can do so at the Clark County Elections Department, 1408 Franklin St., Vancouver.

Candidates for elective office will also have the option of filing their declaration of candidacy over the Internet. The online candidate filing system will be available at

from 9 a.m., Monday, May 13 to 4 p.m., Friday, May 17.

To file online as a candidate, a citizen must have a valid email address and be registered to vote in the jurisdiction for which they are filing. Candidates will also be able to pay any candidate filing fee online using a valid Visa or MasterCard credit card.

The filing fee for an office is 1 percent of the annual salary, for those positions paying an annual salary of $1,000 or more. For positions paying less than $1,000 per year, the fee is $10. If there is no annual salary, there is no fee.

Local offices that will be open for filing include:

Port of C-W — District 1, Mark Lampton and District 3, Bill Macrae-Smith.

Camas City Council — Ward 1, Melissa Smith; Ward 2, Steve Hogan; Ward 3: Shannon Turk.

City of Washougal — Mayor Sean Guard; Washougal City Council, Position 1, Brent Boger; Position 3, Paul Greenlee; Position 6, Dave Shoemaker.

Camas School District — District 1, Casey O’Dell; District 2, Julia Rotz.

Washougal School District — District 1, Terrie Hutchins; District 3, Blaine Peterson; District 5, Ron Dinius.

Mt. Pleasant School District — Position 1, Thomas Schlatter; Position 2, Delores “De” Nelson; Position 4, Tanis Morris; Position 5, Peggy Carroll.

East County Fire and Rescue — Position 2, Victor Rasmussen and Position 4, Martha Martin.

Camas City Council members earn $6,000 per year, while the Washougal mayor earns $24,000, Washougal City Councilors earn $5,700, and port commissioners earn $4,200. All other local elected seats receive no salaries.

Incumbents Guard, Macrae-Smith and Martin have all publicly announced their plans to file for re-election.

The primary election is Aug. 5, and the general election is Nov. 5.

For more information, call the Clark County Elections Department at 397-2345, email or visit