School Board incumbents retain seats

Rotz, Peterson readily defeat challengers

timestamp icon
category icon News

Incumbents kept their seats in both local school board races.

According to election results as of Wednesday, Washougal incumbent Blaine Peterson retained his seat, defeating Jeanie Moran with 59.67 of the vote.

In Camas, incumbent Julie Rotz defeated challenger Erika Cox with 55.81 percent of the vote.

“I feel relieved,” Rotz, a technology consultant, said. “And I’m also eager to continue moving forward with the work I’m doing on the board.”

Currently, she serves on the district’s technology committee, citizens’ advisory committee and long range/futures planning committee. She has also served on the budget committee.

Rotz’s future plans include focusing on early literacy and preparing high school students for college and career readiness.

“Mary Tipton (a fellow board member) and I are very interested in early literacy, and are looking to see what we can do to support that in the schools,” she said. “And as a professional, I want people to come out of our school district and be employable, as well as well-rounded individuals.”

She sees the biggest challenge in the next few years as helping parents understand common core standards, and supporting teachers and students during the shift.

“It will happen, and we need to be ready,” Rotz said.

Peterson could not be reached for comment about his win.

Non-contested races include the following: Camas School Board, Casey O’Dell (District 1), ; Mount Pleasant School Board, Tannis Morris (Director 4) and Kate Stiles (Director 5) ; and Washougal School Board, Ron Dinius (District 5).