Canyon Creek is named School of Distinction

Award is for sustained improvement in English language arts, math

Canyon Creek Middle School has been named a School of Distinction for sustained improvement in English language arts and math over a five-year period.

This means it is among the 5 percent highest improving schools in the state of Washington.

Principal Sandi Christensen says the award represents a team effort among students, teachers, staff and parents to support student learning and school attendance.

“To me, the award represents consistent improvement and growth,” Christensen said. “This applies to student, teacher and principal learning. We are all in this together.”

She noted that teachers learn together in their Professional Learning Communities and work hard to identify what individual students need, and to make sure that they are teaching the critical skills and content.

ESD 112 Superintendent Tim Merlino and Board Member Rainer Houser visited the school Oct. 25 to present the award to staff and students.

“I congratulate Ms. Christensen, your teachers, support staff and especially you, the students,” said Merlino. “All of your hard work made this great achievement possible. On behalf of the entire region, I am pleased to present you with this banner and recognize you all with this distinguished honor.”

Added Christensen, “We have worked a lot with students the last four years on a “growth mindset,” which is the belief that you can grow your brain and that if you don’t know something, it just means you haven’t learned it yet.”

Across the state, 94 schools received the award, which is given by The Center for Educational Effectiveness in partnership with the Association of Educational Service Districts, the Association of Washington School Principals, Washington Association of School Administrators, Washington State School Directors’ Association, and Washington State Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development.

This is the second time the school has achieved this distinction, having also earned the award in 2007.