‘One-pitch warriors’ pursue World Series

C-W Babe Ruth all-stars advance to regional in Kelso

timestamp icon
category icon Sports
Camas-Washougal beat Kalama-Woodland-Ridgefield-La Center 11-10 Saturday, at Louis Bloch Park in Camas, to become the Southern Washington 13-15 Babe Ruth state champions. Players are Drew Ott, Lucas Barbier, Jackson Gibbs, Josh Mansur, Skylar Kelsey, Beau Kearsey, Taylor Shega, Clint French, Braden Zook, Evan Stott, Isaac Hanley, Kolby Broadbent, Bradley Carter, Logan Kearsey and Gideon Malychewski. Andrew Ott is the manager, and Bob Gibbs and Joel Shega are the coaches. (Photo courtesy of Sydney Ott)

Three runs in. Bases loaded. Tying run on third.

Josh Mansur struck out the final batter to help the Camas-Washougal Babe Ruth 14- to 15-year-old all-star baseball team become state champions.

“We went to the World Series two years ago,” said manager Andrew Ott. “We’re hoping to take the same path, and we just took the first step here by winning the state title.”

Camas-Washougal defeated Kalama-Woodland-Ridgefield-La Center 11-10 Saturday, at Louis Bloch Park in Camas.

Evan Stott went 3-for-4 with 3 RBI and 2 runs; Mansur went 3-for-4 with double, RBI and 2 runs; Isaac Hanley went 2-for-3 with 2 RBI and a run; Braden Zook was 2-for-2 with a run and an RBI.

“One-pitch warrior has been our motto. We take it one pitch at a time, one out at a time and one inning at a time,” Ott said. “Even though they were getting close, we just kept saying ‘we got to win this inning.’ If we keep winning innings, we’re going to win the game.”

The Pacific Northwest Babe Ruth Regional takes place July 24 to 29, at Rister Stadium in Kelso.

Camas-Washougal faces Montana July 25, at 7 p.m.; Alberta, Canada July 26, at 4 p.m.; Wyoming July 27, at 4 p.m.; and KWRL July 28, at 4 p.m.

Semifinal games are at 10 a.m. and 1 p.m. July 29. The championship game follows at 5 p.m.

The regional champion advances to the Babe Ruth World Series Aug. 10-27, in Lawrenceburg, Tennessee.

Kolby Broadbent, Jackson Gibbs, Beau Kearsey, Logan Kearsey, Gideon Malychewski, Drew Ott and Stott were on the C-W team that went to the World Series in 2015.

“We have a ball we brought back from the World Series. We started warming up with that ball in the bullpen,” said coach Ott. “Just a little reminder of what we want to go for.”