Motocross returns to Washougal this Saturday

Annual event drew more than 21,000 spectators from around the world to the local raceway in 2016

timestamp icon
category icon Sports
The action was fast in the 450 Class moto 2 during the 2016 Peterson CAT Washougal National, at Washougal Motocross Park. The annual event attracted riders and spectators from around the world. The estimated number of spectators at the ninth round of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship was between 21,000 and 23,000, according to Race Announcer Brian Barnes. (Post-Record file photo)

By Tori Benavente, Post-Record staff writer

The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, is back in Washougal for the Peterson CAT Washougal National this weekend. The touring championship holds its ninth round of races at Washougal MX Park on Saturday. The national amateur days began earlier this week, on July 26.

The local raceway, at 40205 N.E. Borin Road, Washougal, is one of the most scenic tracks visited during the championships.

Last year, an estimated 21,000 to 23,000 spectators were at the Washougal park, according to race announcer Brian Barnes.

The pro championships are a 12-round series that begins in California and travels throughout the United States, hitting tracks in Colorado, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Michigan, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New York, Maryland and Indiana, according to the MX sports pro racing website.

A handful of Pacific Northwest-grown riders will compete in the championships, including Tommy Weeck, of Washougal.

450 Class Championship Standings
  1. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Kawasaki - 329
  2. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., KTM - 309
  3. Marvin Musquin, La Reole, France, KTM - 269
  4. Dean Wilson, Glasgow, Scotland, Husqvarna - 238
  5. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Husqvarna - 216
  6. Cole Seely, Newbury Park, Calif., Honda - 192
  7. Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Suzuki - 188
  8. Cooper Webb, Newport, N.C., Yamaha - 177
250 Class Championship Standings
  1. Zach Osborne, Abingdon, Va., Husqvarna - 339
  2. Alex Martin, Millville, Minn., KTM - 296
  3. Jeremy Martin, Millville, Minn., Honda - 276
  4. Joey Savatgy, Thomasville, Ga., Kawasaki - 242
  5. Dylan Ferrandis, Avignon, France, Yamaha - 226
  6. Aaron Plessinger, Hamilton, Ohio, Yamaha - 219
  7. Adam Cianciarulo, Port Orange, Fla., Kawasaki - 216
  8. Mitchell Harrison, Brighton, Mich., Yamaha - 190

The other local riders are Nick Schmidt, Everett, Washington; Colin Jurin, Monroe, Washington; Chris Howell, Spokane,Washington; Mason Wharton, Brush Prairie, Washington; Brad Naudit, Chattaroy, Washington; Dylan Summerlin, Kent, Washington; Joel Barnowski, Boise, Idaho; and Austin Kouba, Star, Idaho.

The tickets for the race are available online at

General admission for July 26 through July 29 costs $60. Tickets to just the Saturday, July 29, pro event cost $40. Tickets for children ages six and younger are free. VIP Super Tickets for ages 13 or older are $200, or for 12 and under $150. Overnight camping is $60 and early-entry camping pass costs $200. Parking passes are available online for $10 or at the track for $15. A “pro pit pass” add-on costs $10 online or $20 at the track.

One helpful hint? To purchase tickets at the track, you must have cash, and there are no ATMs on site, so come prepared.

To view the 2017 pro schedule, visit