Washougal School Board position open

Long-time board member Elaine Pfeifer resigns from District 2 position

timestamp icon
category icon News
Elaine Pfeifer, Washougal School Board member of nearly 14 years, has resigned from her District 2 position. The district is accepting applications for the position and the deadline is August 20. (Contributed photo courtesy of Rene Carroll)

The Washougal School District (WSD) board of directors is now accepting applications to fill the District 2 position after its most veteran member has resigned.

Elaine Pfeifer, who has served nearly 14 years on the board, sent a letter of resignation to board members on July 2.

“The timing may seem abrupt but is meant with the best of intentions in facilitating the addition of a new board member during the summer to begin the important work of team building with the new superintendent and district staff,” Pfeifer wrote in her resignation.

In a July 25 release from the district, board president Cory Chase said Pfeifer has been a tremendous asset to the community during her time on the school board.

“She has truly been an ambassador for public education,” Chase said. “Elaine has been selfless in her dedication to ensuring our district is able to provide the best educational opportunities to the children of Washougal.”

 Pfeifer said Washougal is a unique community that she is proud to call home. 

“Washougal is blessed with so many caring, dedicated professionals and community members that work hard every day to make a difference in individuals lives and help create a positive environment.”

Pfeifer said she appreciates and is thankful for the opportunity to serve on the board.

“I will miss the front row seat, but will be watching with the rest of the community to see all the great things that happen,” she said.

The district is accepting applications for the District 2 position, which stretches from the Washougal River north to the district boundary, across both Clark and Skamania counties.

The application deadline is August 20.

Applicants must be registered voters and reside within District 2.

For information about the position, residency requirements and application materials, visit or contact Cassi Marshall, (360) 954-3005 or

The appointed board member may file to run for a four-year term in the November 2019 election. For a map of the director district boundaries, visit,