Clark County candidate filing deadline this Friday

Several Camas-Washougal city council, school board seats up for grabs in ‘23

timestamp icon
category icon Latest News, News
Post-Record files A voter drops off a ballot Oct. 29, 2018, in the 24-hour ballot drop box, next to the Camas Post Office, 440 N.E. Fifth Ave., Camas.

The Clark County candidate filing period for open elected offices in 2023 comes to a close this Friday, May 19.

Candidate hopefuls must file online by 4 p.m. Friday, May 19. In-person filing at the Clark County Elections office, located at 1408 Franklin St., Vancouver, closes at 5 p.m. Friday, May 19.

There are several open elected offices in Camas-Washougal up for grabs in the 2023 primary and general elections, including six Washougal City Council positions:

• The unexpired 2-year Position No. 1 mayoral seat currently held by the Council-appointed mayor, David Stuebe;

• The 4-year Position No. 2 seat held by Michelle C. Wagner;

• The unexpired 2-year Position No. 3 seat held by David Fritz

• The short and full 4-year Position No. 4 seat held by Janice Killion

• The 4-year Position No. 5 seat held by Molly Coston; and

• The 4-year Position No. 7 seat held by Ernie Suggs.

There also are five city of Camas offices open for election in 2023:

• The 4-year mayoral position now filled by Camas Mayor Steve Hogan;

• The 4-year at-large Council position currently held by Don Chaney;

• The short and full 4-year Ward 3, Position 1 seat formerly held by Greg Anderson and now filled by the Council-appointed Jennifer Senescu;

• The short and full 4-year Ward 1, Position 1 office formerly held by Shannon Roberts and now held by the Council-appointed John Nohr; and

• The 4-year Ward 2, Position 1 office currently held by Bonnie Carter.

Other open elected positions include three Camas School Board seats:

• The 4-year District No. 3 seat held by Connie Hennessey;

• The 4-year District No. 4 seat formerly filled by Doug Quinn and now held by Board-appointed Bamini Pathmanathan; and

• The 4-year District No. 5 seat held by Tracey Malone.

And there are three Washougal School Board positions open, including:

• The 4-year District No. 1 position held by Jim Cooper;

• The 4-year District No. 2 seat held by Angela Hancock; and

• The 4-year District No. 4 seat held Board president Cory Chase.

The Port of Camas-Washougal Commission also has one elected office open in 2023. Incumbent Port Commissioner Cassi Marshall has already indicated that she intends to run for re-election to that 4-year District No. 2 Port Commission seat.

For more information, including a complete list of local offices open for election, filing fees and deadlines, political sign regulations and tips for filing with the Washington State Public Disclosure Commission (PDC), visit