Candidates file ahead of Aug. 6 primary election

Camas-Washougal residents will vie for federal, state and county positions

timestamp icon
category icon Government, Latest News
A ballot box stands near the Camas Post Office on Oct. 16, 2020. (Kelly Moyer/Post-Record files)

The candidate filing period for the Aug. 6, 2024 Primary and Special Election came to a close May 10, and the final list includes several Camas-Washougal residents hoping to be elected to federal, state and county seats.

The primary race for Washington’s 3rd District congressional seat — now held by Democratic Rep. Marie Gluesenkamp Perez — will include Republican challengers Joe Kent, of Vancouver, who lost the seat to Gluesenkamp Perez in November 2022, and Camas City Councilwoman Leslie Lewallen. Camas resident John Saulie-Rohman also has thrown their hat in the ring for the 3rd District seat and will be running as an independent candidate.

The primary race for the District 17, Position 2 state House seat now held by Republican Rep. Paul Harris will include Democratic candidate Terri Niles, of Vancouver, and two Republican candidates — Washougal Mayor David Stuebe, who has said he would like to retain his mayoral seat if elected to the state legislature; and Hannah Joy, of Carson, Washington.

Harris has filed to run as a Republican candidate for Sen. Lynda Wilson’s 17th District state Senate seat. Wilson announced in March that she plans to retire following a 10-year run in the state Legislature. Harris will run against Democratic candidate Marla Keethler, of White Salmon, for the 17th District state Senate seat.

Meanwhile, incumbent state Rep. Kevin Waters, a Republican from Stevenson, will run unopposed for the state Legislature seat he won in November 2022.

At the county level, there are three Camas residents vying for the Clark County Council’s District No. 4 position — including former Camas City Councilwoman Shannon Roberts, who quit her Council position unexpectedly in July 2022, a little more than halfway through her four-year term.

Other candidates competing for the County Council District 4 seat, which represents Camas and Washougal residents, include Peter Cutile, of Camas; Matt Little, of Camas; Dorothy Gasque, of Brush Prairie; and Joe Zimmerman, of Vancouver.

Clark County Elections will mail ballots for the Aug. 6 election no later than July 19, and voters should expect their ballots to arrive by July 25.

The election also includes three propositions important to Camas and Washougal voters:

• Proposition No. 4, a $26 million bond to build a new fire station/headquarters in downtown Camas;

• Proposition 12, a $15.7 million bond to replace the Washougal fire station; and

• Proposition 5, which would authorize a single-year levy lid lift to help fund the East County Fire and Rescue District north of Camas-Washougal.

The deadlines to register or update voter registration are July 29 (online) and Aug. 6 (in-person).

For more information, visit