School notes for June 29

timestamp icon
category icon Announcements

Youth Commission recognizes local students

The Clark County Youth Commission held its annual youth achievement celebration event last month. Students from area high schools, including Camas and Washougal, were honored.

They include students in the following categories from Camas and Washougal high schools.

Arts: Naomi Willbanks, Jillian Webb, Savannah Kennedy and Gretchen Beyer of Camas; and Orion Miller of Washougal

Business: Denis Stashenko and Kelsey Nakaishi of Washougal

Citizenship: Anastasia “Anna” Xiong, Ryan Scheel, Ian Sams and Kristan Poissonnier of Washougal; and Mikayla Lindstrom of Camas

Education: Raymond Springer, Mina Han and Brittany Domine of Camas

Environmental Studies: Tanya Davis of Camas

Family Life: Jeremiah Maiden of Washougal and Thajj Cumberbatch of Camas.

Inspiration: Scott Yin, Sarah Tennyson, Amanda Tennyson, Tyler Onder, Shalese Mosley and Amanda Fleck of Camas; and Debika Finucane of Washougal.

Leadership: Connor Sullivan, Lisa Nicholson, Hannah Jones and Nathan Culver of Camas; and Jessandra Dinius of Washougal.

Personal Achievement: Melissa Cole, Samantha Berthel and Jocelyn Andrews of Camas; and Andrew Krahn, Romney Kellogg, Emily Field and Jaycob Bailey of Washougal.

Tolerance: Brandon Brown and Alexander Brown of Washougal.

Camas School District staff honored

Six staff members from the Camas School District were recognized for their “dedication and influence,” at the annual Staff Recognition Awards luncheon.

“These staff are reflective of all the excellent staff we have working on behalf of our students in Camas,” Superintendent Mike Nerland said.

They include: Grass Valley Elementary School Title I teacher Dottie Chadwick, Camas High School teacher Hannelore Tweed, Helen Baller Elementary School physical education teacher Amy Wing, CHS Associated Student Body Assistant Maria Klein, Skyridge Middle School paraprofessional Traci Kosaki, Liberty Middle School in-school suspension supervisor Brandy Reed, and the Grass Valley Elementary School maintenance and custodial crew.