Election 2011: Candidate filing week wraps up

Several local seats draw several candidates

timestamp icon
category icon News

Filing week for the November General Election began Monday and ran through Friday at 5 p.m.

The following candidates filed for local seats through the Clark County Elections Office:

City of Camas

Mayor: Scott Higgins, Ken Kakuk; City Council Ward 1: Tim Hazen; City Council Ward 2: Linda Dietzman; City Council Ward 3: Greg K. Anderson, Andrea Roth Meisgeier; City Council At-Large: Don Chaney, Margaret Tweet

Washougal City Council

Position 2: Rodney Morris, Mike Moreau, George Kolin, Caryn Plinski; Position 4: Michael Delavar, Joyce Lindsay; Position 5: Jennifer McDaniel, Mark Rohr, Niki Anderson; Position 7: Molly Coston, Connie Jo Freeman, Hugh Roberts

East County Fire and Rescue

Position 1: Gary Larson, Kenny Cochran; Position 4: John E. Clancy, Brooks Cooper; Position 5: George “Jack” Hoober, Thomas Gianatasio

Camas School District

District 3: Connie Hennessey; District 4: Doug Quinn; District 5: Mary Tipton

Washougal School District

District 1: Terrie Hutchins; District 2: Elaine Pfeifer; District 4: Karen Rubino

Mount Pleasant School District

District 3: Kark Kanthak; District 4: Phillip James Caldwell

Port of Camas-Washougal

District 2: Neil Cahoon, Bill Ward, David Luse

The primary election will be held Tuesday, Aug. 16. The top two candidates in each race will move on to the Tuesday, Nov. 8 General Election.

Camas City Council members earn $6,000 per year, while the Camas mayor earns $15,600; Washougal City Council members earn $6,000 annually, and Port of C-W commissioners earn $4,200 per year. All school board and fire district positions are volunteer, and earn no compensation.

For more information about positions up for re-election and candidate filing requirements, visit