School notes for May 15, 2012

timestamp icon
category icon Schools

Skyridge to perform ‘Oklahoma’

Skyridge Middle School students will presenet the play, “Oklahoma” at the Camas High School Theater Thursday, May 17 through Saturday, May 19 at 7 p.m.

Tickets are $7 for adults, $5 for seniors and $5 for youth ages 5 to 18, and free for those younger than 5.

The theater is located at 26900 S.E. 15th St.

Utter earns Arabian Horse Foundation scholarship

Kendall Utter of Washougal has been named the winner of a $750 scholarship from the Arabian Horse Foundation.

She is a senior at Washougal High School.

Area students named to dean’s list

Local students have been named to the dean’s list at the University of Washington for winter quarter 2012.

To qualify for the dean’s list, a student must have completed at least 12 graded credits and have a GPA of at least 3.5. The Camas students include: Kara Nicole Amber, Lukas Zachary Barlas, Geoffrey Stephen Broschart, Lauren Taylor Burton, Sunjay R Cauligi, Christopher Ian Charlson, Meghan Cassie Cowan, Sean Zhang Cowan, Rona Ding, Peter Harrison Englund, Kerrin Michele Feather, Michelle Le Hoang, Nicholas Daniel Jaech, Olivia Kay Janson, Aaron Joseph Johnson, Jaimee Marie Johnson, Ciara Anne Klein, Katherine Nicole Lohn, Josey Marshall, Seyed Sina Mousavi Nasab, Peter Shevlin Orchard, Andrew A Poleon, Staehli Koryn Ross, Amy Rose Siebenthaler, Marshelle Page Slayton, Sara Marie Slayton, Lucas Michael Smith, Molly Mckenzie Smith, Zachary Tyler Valenter, Robyn Lee Wichert and Linda Lee Zhang, all of Camas.

Washougal students are: Darcy Sheila Akers, Chad Samuel Aller, Minerva Chen, John Gabriel D’Angelo, Jona Leigh Ensley, Reiner Larkin Hershaw, Scott Jeff Powell and Shauntel Eileen Steele.

CW Rotary presents scholarships

The Camas-Washougal Rotary Club has named winners in its annual $1,000 scholarship competition.

Camas recipients are Curtis M. Little, Cait Pudlitzke, Joanna Liao and Katherine Brown.

Students selected in Washougal are Trent Stauffer, Lauren Fialdini, James H. Maguire and Charles Loring Moore III.

These students were selected by this year’s Rotary scholarship team consisting of Liz Stiles, Richard Renton, Bill Ward, Don Dire, Greg Brown, Nikki Costa and Aaron Reiter.

Since it was founded in the mid-90s, Rotary has awarded scholarships to students living in the attendance area of Camas and Washougal high schools. During the annual Camas Days celebration, the club sponsors the “Ducky Derby” contest to raise funds for the scholarship awards. This year a total of $8,000 was awarded.

Boerke, Holmes join DBCC

Dream Big Community Center (DBCC) appointed new leadership to the nonprofit’s board of directors last month, including two Camas educators.

Amy Holmes, principal of Hayes Freedom High School, was appointed to a new position as chair of programs.

Marilyn Boerke, principal at Liberty Middle School, joined as a board member.

According to a press release from the organization, the new positions come at a key moment for the organization, which recently launched fundraising campaigns to support program expansion and development, as well as the construction of a new community center building.

Founded in 2004, Dream Big Community Center is a 501c3, private nonprofit focused on the development of young people, especially those in their teens.

For more information, please visit us at

Clark College concert is June 15

The Clark College Concert Choir, under the direction of April Duvic, and Concert Band, under the direction of Richard Inouye, will present their spring concert Friday, June 15, at 7:30 p.m., in the Royal Durst Theatre, at the Vancouver School of Arts and Academics, 3101 Main St., Vancouver.

“Music for the Stage and Screen,” will feature key works from some of the best-loved movies and musicals in American history.

The concert is free and open to the public.

For more information, call Peggy Winston at 360-992-2662.