School notes for July 9, 2013

timestamp icon
category icon Schools

VBS set at United Methodist Church

During Monday to Friday, July 15 to 19 there will be a free Vacation Bible School at Camas United Methodist Church from 9:30 a.m. to noon.

VBS includes story times, drama, creative crafts, hands-on mission work, science projects, music and snacks.

All children through fifth-grade are invited to join the “Everywhere Fun Fair, Where God’s World Comes Together.”

The central theme is how to love neighbors, near and far, in local communities and around the world.

Registration forms are available at the church, 706 N.E. 14th Ave., or at the door. For more information, call 834-2976.

Price named to OSU honor roll

Ashlyn K. Price of Camas has been named to the spring term honor roll at Oregon State University.

To qualify, students must earn at least a 3.5 GPA and take 12 graded hours of course work.

Hathaway names citizenship award winners for spring term

The following students have been selected as the spring citizenship award recipients at Hathaway Elementary School in Washougal.

Kindergarten: Abby Anderson, Aidan Logan, Asa Pineda, Cameron Miller, Charlisa Lewis, Chloe Baker, Danica Ensminger, Evan Elliott, Hayden Mitchell-Seeds, Justin Ziegler, Lacy Ayres-Thorn, Melissa Rothman, Nathaniel Tauialo, Nevaeh McCallister, Tyler Thompson, Taylor Coles, Destiny Hernandez, Tiernan Hill, Buddy Johnson, Tyauna Martinez, Austin Mattern, Madeline Prynne, Anna Vonderohe, Mikayla Harrison, Emma Wall, Dylan Clapp, Drake Leifsen, Daniel Martinez, Devin Stone, Emily Zimmerman, Kalenia Shephard, Ian Marshall, Kate Kesler, Noah Wheeler, Karrina Haveman, Abby Glassen, Riley Williams, Nate Santon, Iris Marquez, Neveah Haviland, Michael Fox, Hudson Lucas, Caleb Mitchell, C. J. Krout and Aubrey Hettling

First-grade: Marcel Atto, Karina Berry, Samuel Bisila, Jaedyn Burrese, Jayla Greenia, Kacee Maler, Sara Parthemer, Ryan Ziegler, Connor DeWitt, Alexi Goodman, Jamie Maas, Nicole Mancini, Bianca Montoya, Topher Anderson, Deja Smity, Mallory Slot, Terrence Washington, Tristan Steward, Anna Albee, Jorja Ladage, Kiersten Lees, Shane Farra, Shaun Leifson and Lucas Bingaman,

Second-grade: Clayton Clapp, Samantha Dionne, Austin Helige, Chloe Johnson, William Lewis, Tristine Lowe, Makayla Pegueros, Mystique Sherman, Paytience Fox, Kiara Njar, Lucia Rodriguez, Wayne Murray II, Kael Krabbenhoft, Blake Mattern, Brooklyn Curtis, Emily Spencer, Kadence Wiemer, Valerie David, Chase Scofield, Sami Ellis, Sequoia Ward, Aaron Pojakov, Ella Morris, Emma Beaudoin, Erika Valenzuela, Karina Lyashevskaya, Makaya Harris, Makena Bjorklund, Natalie Bratton, Natalie DelCarlo, Talon Conelly, Trinity Nicholson, Andrenae Merideth, Caroline Collins, Logan Doern, Kadence Gifford, Sterling Kesler, Erin Kutchera, Mathew Marshall, Jessica Nute, Aundre Pitts, Spencer Porche and Kailey Rhyner,

Third-grade: Tara Ziegler, Madeline Wolcott, Joseph Berry, Isabelle Bisila, Jayna Bradley, Jocelyn Cotrone-Bowman, Colby Mings, Carson Morris, Spencer Nicholson, Samuel Richardson, Blake Scott, Haley Syfrett, Lindsay Wilcox, Mariah Brill, Hunter Brumfield, Ethan Cherry, Matthew Evans II, Jacob Gregersen, Gemma Lepe, Lauren Humphreys, Dalton Lester, Garrett Luoma, Paige Maas, Kaela Northcut, Luke Santon, Jacob Haveman, Tyler Meredeth, Justine Claassen, Brooklyn Yuska, Talon Mitchell, Anubis Bicknell-Farrar and Riley Maddix.

Fourth-grade: Kodie Anderson, Melina Aguilar, Leilani Lamb, Jaden Carstens, Dayjay Washington, Ashton Decker, Meghan Harris, Lyla Haas, Renee Foreman, Madison David, Issac Collins, Gunnar Bjorklund, Jordan Alexander, Karrynn Anzorena-MacArthur, Kessa Blankenship, Autumn Forney, Destiny Fullbright, Xavier Gilmore, Tessa Haas, Anthony Humphreys, Jacob Navolynski, Dennis O’Harra, Timothey Simmons, Ty Wallace, David Waters, Taylor Vincent, Nathan Farra, Franky Kolin, Brienna Elliott, Jacob Albee and Kendall Doern,

Fifth-grade: Kolton Andrews, Jordyn Johnson, Scott Lees, Hailey Maddix, Consuelo Martinez, Andres Magana, Hannah Tangen, T. J. Tauialo, Sriree Rasrinual, Jocelyn Shepherd, Elaina Tauialo, Roy Stephens, Gracie Wiekel-Jauert, Alexis Arnold, C. J. Booth, Bradyn Crone, Skyla Grant, Amber Pegueros, Hope Peterson, Brandon MacArthur, Madison Meyer, Chyanne Bean, J. D. Bean, Max Darrow, Pedro Hernandez, Harry Peterson, Adrien Joiner, Ryan Worral, Damon Brumfield, Samantha Klantchnek, Gwen Lewis and Maureen Slot.

Columbia Springs sets art contest

Columbia Springs’ Salmon in the Classroom Program invites local students to submit art to be featured in a 2014 Healthy Waterways Calendar.

Each month will feature a different student’s work. Students from kindergarten through 12th grade are invited to get out crayons, markers, paints or other medium, and create an 8.5 by 11 inch artistic work that represents a healthy watershed.

Submissions are due by July 15.

The Salmon in the Classroom Program at Columbia Springs is funded through a partnership with the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife and Clark Public Utilities.

This contest is sponsored by Clark-Skamania Flyfishers. For more information, contact Amanda Frankel at 882-0936, Ext. 228 or e-mail

Contest guidelines can be downloaded at

Columbia Springs’ mission is to, “offer the community a unique setting where educational experiences foster greater awareness of the natural world and inspire stewardship.”

EWU lists spring honor roll students

Eastern Washington University in Cheney recently announced its honor roll for the 2013 spring quarter.

Camas students include Rachel Bersaas, Christopher Bryson, Allyson Dunlap, Kristina Griffee, Trevor Jollie, Danika Jones, Casey Kroll, Renee Valenter, Alec Watts and Melissa Williams.

Washougal students include Amanda Acheson, Sydney Loveland and Patrick Scheel.

To be named to the dean’s list, undergraduates must earn 12 credit hours and receive a GPA of 3.5 or better.

Washougal Community Library sets ‘upcycling’ event for teens

The Washougal Community Library invites teens to bring old jewelry, computer “junk,” and other bits and pieces to combine with its stash, and create something new. Participants can make earrings, necklaces, sculptures, wind chimes and more.

The event is free and takes place from 2 to 4 p.m. Thursday, July 18. Washougal Community Library is located at 1661 “C” St.