School notes for March 12, 2013

timestamp icon
category icon Local Schools, Schools

WSD boundary requests due May 17

The Washougal School District is accepting applications for in-district boundary exceptions for 2013-14.

All families making the request to have their child attend a Washougal school other than their designated neighborhood school must complete a new transfer request every year.

Priority will be given to students who currently have approved transfer status, and applications received by May 17.

Those applicants will be notified by May 31 if the application has been approved, denied or postponed.

To read the complete in-district boundary transfer policy, visit

Music Together comes to community center

Music Together is coming to the Camas Community Center.

The program is an internationally recognized early childhood music and movement program for children from birth through age 5, as well as parents and caregivers.

Free demo classes will be Tuesday, March 26, from 10:15 a.m. to 11 a.m.; and 1:15 p.m. to 2 p.m.

Pre-registration is required by calling 335-4587.

Classes will be held at the Camas Community Center, 1718 S.E. Seventh Ave.

For more information, call 834-5307.

WHS students accepted as aerospace scholars

Washougal High School students Brian Choi and Adam Thomas have been selected to participate in phase one of the Washington Aerospace Scholars Program.

These students are among 282 high school juniors from across Washington state who are participating in this free, competitive, science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education program.

It is affiliated with NASA Johnson Space Center’s National High School Aerospace Scholars program and has partner programs in Texas, Virginia and Idaho.

Its primary purpose is to, “excite and prepare students to pursue career pathways in STEM fields,” using a distance learning curriculum developed in partnership with NASA and the University of Washington.

Over the next few months, students will complete online academic coursework to qualify for one of 160 summer residency session slots.

To qualify, students must satisfactorily complete 10 online lessons, consisting of research essays, space-related math problems, and detailed graphics that illustrate their ideas.

WAS participants also have the option to receive five University of Washington credits in Space and Space Travel, upon successful completion of the online curriculum.

This course will also satisfy the Natural World area of knowledge requirement for graduation from UW.

Hathaway students to perform ‘Snow White’

The Missoula Children’s Theater and Hathaway Elementary School will present an original adaptation of the classic fairy tale, “Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs.”

Show times will be 3 and 7 p.m. Saturday at the Washburn Performing Arts Center, 1201 39th St.

There is no cost to attend a Missoula Children’s Theater Production, but donations will be accepted at the door.

Approximately 50 to 60 Hathaway students will be acting in the play, having rehearsed the entire

The MCT residency is provided by the Hathaway Boosters, the Washougal Schools Foundation, and Storm and Chris Wilcox.Locals named to UW dean’s list

Several local students were named to the dean’s list at the University of Washington.

To be named to the list, students must earn at least a 3.5 GPA.

Camas residents include: Lukas Zachary Barlas, Philip Christopher Barlas, Meredith Rose Barrett, Sunjay R Cauligi, Christopher Ian Charlson, Meghan Cassie Cowan, Sean Zhang Cowan, Rona Ding, Benjamin Thomas Hagen, Kaitlan Ann Hamby, Christina Hsu, Blair Matthew Hunter, Nicholas Daniel Jaech, Olivia Kay Janson, Andrew Jeremy Khaw, Joanna Y Liao, Joseph Richard Marshall, Seyed Sina Mousavi Nasab, Cosmo Yuchen Peng, Jacob Todd Shafer, Sara Marie Slayton, Jared Martin Smith, Lucas Michael Smith, Molly Mckenzie Smith, Philip Charles Westphal, James Ryan Wood Tylor K Yi, Linda Lee Zhang and Quqi Zhang.

Washougal residents include Darcy Sheila Akers, Minerva Chen, John Gabriel D’Angelo, Kayla Lee Down, Madeline Jayne Down, Angie Geng, William Victor Hawley, Megan Mao, John Jinwoo Park and Parker Burgess Roland, Hailey Briahna Watts and Jessica Jennifer Woodley.