Candidates step forward during filing week

Three day filing period opens for Washougal, Mt. Pleasant school district seats

The conclusion of filing week revealed a few surprises, as citizens filed to be candidates for seats in local government.

In Washougal, Mayor Sean Guard will have an opponent in Earl Scott — a longtime Washougal Fire Department captain.

Washougal City Council Position 3 incumbent Paul Greenlee will have two challengers in Lisa D. Voeltz and George Kolin, while Rod Morris, a former councilman and current volunteer firefighter, has decided to run against incumbent Dave Shoemaker for the Position 6 seat.

In Camas, Ken Kakuk, who in the 2011 election ran an unsuccessful campaign to unseat Mayor Scott Higgins, has now filed to run against incumbent Steve Hogan for the Ward 2 City Council seat. Meanwhile, City Councilwoman Melissa Smith will be challenged by Vanessa (Van) Amundson.

On the Washougal School Board, incumbent Blaine A. Peterson will have two challengers — Jeanie Moran and Eva-Maria Mull.

The school board’s District 1 board member, Terrie Hutchins, decided not to run for a second term, and no other candidates filed for the seat. This means that this position, as well as Position 2 on the Mt. Pleasant School Board, will be part of a special extended three-day filing period, which closes Wednesday, at 5 p.m. Qualified candidates can file online at or in-person at the Clark County Elections Department, 1408 Franklin St., in Vancouver.

The full list of candidates for local office includes:

Camas City Council

Vanessa (Van) Amundson, Ward 1, Position 2; Melissa Smith, Ward 1, Position 2; Steven C. Hogan, Ward 2, Position 2; Ken Kakuk, Ward 2, Position 2; Shannon Turk, Ward 3, Position 2.

Washougal City Council

Sean Guard, Mayor; Earl Scott, Mayor; Brent Boger, Position 1; Paul Greenlee, Position 3; Lisa D. Voeltz, Position 3; George Kolin, Position 3; Rodney P. Morris, Position 6; Dave Shoemaker, Position 6.

Mt. Pleasant School District

Thomas Schlatter, Position 1; Tanis Morris, Position 4; Kate Stiles, Position 5.

Washougal School District

Blaine A. Peterson, Postion 3; Jeanie Moran, Position 3; Eva-Maria Mull, Position 3; Ron F. Dinius, Position 5.

Camas School District

Casey O’Dell, District 1; Julie Rotz, District 2; Erika Cox, District 2.

East County Fire & Rescue

Martha Martin, Position 4; Ray D. Wygal, Position 4; Victor Rasmussen, Position 2; Thomas Gianatasio, Position 2.

Port of Camas-Washougal

Mark Lampton, District 1; Bill Macrae-Smith, District 3.

The primary election will be held Aug. 6. In races with three or more candidates, the two candidates receiving the most votes will move on to the Nov. 5 general election.

For more elections information, visit