FBLA members to participate in state competition

Middle and high school students will head to Spokane April 15

timestamp icon
category icon Schools

Future Business Leaders of America members from Washougal High School and Jemtegaard Middle School have punched their tickets to the state competition.

Fifteen WHS students qualified for state based on their performance at the FBLA regional competition. They are: Rory Csanky, first-place in Business Ethics (team), fourth-place, Emerging Business Issues (team); Adam Krout, first-place in Business Calculations and Business Law, first-place in Business Ethics (team), third-place in Economics and fourth-place in Emerging Business Issues (team); Ryan Krout, first-place in Business Ethics (team), first-place in Business Math, first-place in Business Presentation (team) and fourth-place in Emerging Business Issues (team); Jeannie Jones, fifth-place in Creed; Kayla Donahue, fifth-place in Hospitality Management and Parliamentary Procedure (team); Adela Osorio, fifth-place, Parliamentary Procedure (team); Ryenn Soule, fifth-place, Introduction to Parliamentary Procedure, fifth-place, Parliamentary Procedure (team); Kyel Fisher, fourth-place in Global Business (team) and fifth-place in Parliamentary Procedure (team); River Pike, second-place, Introduction to Business, fifth-place, Parliamentary Procedure (team); Millie Munster, first-place in Business Presentation (team), fourth-place in Global Business (team) and first-place in Job Interview; Shannon Leininger, second-place, Personal Finance; Tiffany Brock, fifth-place, Client Service, fifth-place, Hospitality Management (team); Meredith Collins, first-place in Accounting I and Accounting II; and Matthew Hickey, first-place in Business Presentation (team); second-place in Computer Problem Solving. and fifth-place in Electronic Career Portfolio.

Ten Jemtegaard Middle School students will also participate in the state competition. They include: Rose Elsensohn, first-place, Introduction to Parliamentary Procedure, third-place, Parliamentary Procedure (team); Kaitlyn Fullbright, first-place, FBLA Principles and Procedures; Brooke Hinson, third-place, Introduction to Parliamentary Procedure; Kyra Pierce, second-place, FBLA Principles and Procedures; Chloe Seymour, third-place, Creed, fourth-place, Parliamentary Procedure (team); Jazmyne Williams, third-place, Parliamentary Procedure (team); Hailey Maddix, third-place, Parliamentary Procedure (team); Isaac Hernandez, third-place, Parliamentary Procedure (team); Imagen Huey, fourth-place, Parliamentary Procedure (team); Clara Harris, fourth-place, Parliamentary Procedure (team); ShaylaRae Tyner, fourth-place, Introduction to Parliamentary Procedure and fourth-place, Parliamentary Procedure (team).

As one of the few middle school teams in the region, Jemtegaard’s team competes against high school students in the area.

“Participating in FBLA is so much fun,” Tyner said. “I imagine myself speaking in front of the school as I participate in events like Public Speaking 1, Impromptu Speaking and Parliamentary Procedures. I hope to participate in FBLA in high school.”