Deadline to apply for ECFR Commission seats extended

Letters of interest must be submitted by Thursday, Feb. 12

East County Fire & Rescue commissioners decided to extend the time available for citizens to submit letters of interest for two vacant board positions.

During the Tuesday, Feb. 3 regular meeting, Chairwoman Martha Martin suggested making more time available to see if there is any additional interest in the positions. Two people have submitted letters so far.

The initial application period ran from Jan. 7 to Feb. 2. However, following the commission’s Jan. 8 vote to immediately terminate the contract of Chief Scott Koehler, there was some confusion about whether Commissioner Victor Rasmussen had officially resigned. Although Rasmussen told the Post-Record last month that he resigned effective Jan. 7, ECFR officials were unable to obtain official documentation until just recently.

Citizens living within the current boundaries of the fire district can submit letters of interest through Thursday, Feb. 12, at 5 p.m. Letters should discuss the applicant’s knowledge of the fire district, vision for the fire district, and any public service experience. Letters can be mailed to — or dropped off at — the Fern Prairie fire station, 600 N.E. 267th Ave., Camas.

The commission will conduct interviews for the first open seat Tuesday, Feb. 17. The person selected will then be sworn in Tuesday, March 3.

Interviews for the second open seat will be held Tuesday, March 3. That appointee will take office Tuesday, March 17.

Both positions will be filled, via an election, during the 2015 general election for the remaining two years of the six-year term for one position and the remaining four years of the six-year term for the other position.

ECFR’s five commissioners are elected to set policy, oversee the budget and supervise the fire chief.

In addition to Rasmussen’s vacated seat, the other position that needs to be filled is the one previously held by 13-year commissioner George “Jack” Hoober who resigned Dec. 17.

The current members of the commission are Martin, Mike Berg and Thomas Gianatasio.

ECFR’s six full-time and five part-time paid firefighters, along with approximately 50 volunteers, provide fire protection and emergency medical service response to the 10,000 residents who live within the 60 square miles of unincorporated area that are north of and east of the cities of Camas and Washougal. The district responds to approximately 850 calls per year. The projected budget for 2015 is $2.5 million.

For more information, contact Acting Chief Dean Thornberry at 834-4908 or visit