School notes for June 21, 2016

Free lunches offered for children

The Camas Friends Church will once again be a site for free summer meals for children. All those through age 18 are invited to enjoy a free lunch in the church community area, 1004 N.E. Fourth Ave., from noon to 1:30, Monday through Friday, through Sept. 2.

The meals are provided through SHARE of Vancouver, a non-profit organization that serves Clark County.

Students named to dean’s list

Several area students were named to the dean’s list at the University of Washington for winter quarter.

To be named to the list, students must earn at least a 3.5 GPA and 12 graded credits.

Students include Shiraz Amor Batroukh, Ada Sojourner Beale, Kyle Robert Binder, Kade Anthony Burns, Maren Jade Chau, Ellen De Zoete, Fengjun Dong,Yuan Fang, Halley Rose Flake, Hayden Michael Flake, Tamara Alexandra Gage, Keenan Riley Goodman, Benjamin Thomas Hagen, Riley Maxwell Hein, Christina Hsu, Eugene Hsu, Gabriele Cara Tantiongloc Ilarde, Aaron James Jones, Joy Jihae Kim, Nicholas Strasser Langer, Erica Airu Lee, Isabel Y Lee, Joanna Y Liao, Christopher Andrew MacKie, Carly Jane Marshall, Austin Thomas Miller, David Lyle Orchard, Sharon Ornelas, Rachel Lora Rakoski, Jonathan David Ramos, Jennifer Ruth Ross, David William Schroeder, Min Jin Shin, Eliot Robert Shoemaker, Jared Martin Smith, Madeleine Ailsa Stevenson, Samuel Huibert Svilar, Ethan Bailey Tarr, Maximilian Charles Urbanek and Phuong-Anh Dahlia Vu, all of Camas.

Washougal students named to the dean’s list are Shannon Ahearn, Joshua Tyler Banks, Kayla Ann Cayton, Minerva Chen, Mariya Vladimirovna Demyashkevich, Madeline Jayne Down, Audrey Christine Klackner, Julia Alexandra Larson, Adrienne Marie Leon, Samuel Thomas O’Hara, Robert Christopher Pershing, Robyn Valerie Pfeifer, Timothy Eric Seaman, Austin Reed Thomson, Shicon Wen, Jessica Jennifer Woodley and Hannah Marie Wright.

Carroll College releases honor roll

Jamie Carter of Camas and Bryce Samwel of Washougal were named to the dean’s list at Carroll College in Helena, Montana.

To be named to the list, a student must earn at least a 3.5 GPA and take at least 12 graded credits per semester.

Local students graduate from OSU

Camas and Washougal residents were among the graduates at Oregon State University’s commencement on June 11.

Camas students are: Teresa L. Buklis, Bachelor of Science, public health; Justin M. Lebowsky, (honors) B.S., mechanical engineering; Philip C. Lewallen, B.S., computer science; Olivia M. Lovell, B.S., digital communication arts; Montanna M. McCormack, B.S., marketing.

Washougal students are: Macy J. Leaptrott, B.S., business administration; Hannah M. Taylor, B.S., speech communication.

WHS students honored by Rotary

Several Washougal High School students were recognized by the Camas-Washougal Rotary Club recently for completed their letter in community service.

Jessica Pham, Tessa Anderson, Maryann Atto and Michael Stevens received recognition awards.

Interact Club members Nicholas Costa-Stange, president; Deni Ortiz, vice-president; Korbin Chambers, treasurer; Kendra Noel and Bridgette McCarthy were honored as Paul Harris Fellows.