School notes for May 24, 2016

Scholarship offered for aspiring writer

The Northwest Injury Law Center of Vancouver is awarding a college scholarship to an incoming freshman of color who is an aspiring writer. The scholarship, for $1,500, is named for Mitchell S. Jackson, author of, “The Residue Years.”

Details for the scholarship application are available at

Jackson noted he’s proud to be part of the effort.

“When I was a senior at Jefferson High, I won a $1,000 academic scholarship from Rotary,” he said. “It made me so proud. Writing has helped me transform my life, and I want another young person to have that experience, too.”

Applications for the scholarship will be made in the form of essays to be submitted by Sept. 1. Finalists will be read and judged by Jackson, who will make the final determination on the winner.

Don Jacobs, principal with the NW Injury Law Center, said he’d been considering a vehicle for giving back to the community when he met Jackson, who is the brother of Jacobs’ son-in-law. Jackson agreed to lend his name and participate in the project, and the idea took off.

Jacobs has been practicing law in Vancouver for the past 36 years.

Washougal resident earns doctorate

Chris Brown of Washougal has earned a doctor of education degree from Creighton University.

The school is located in Omaha, Nebraska. More than 1,700 degrees were given during the ceremonies.

Locals named to EWU dean’s list

Camas and Washougal students were named to the winter dean’s list at Eastern Washington University in Cheney. To be named to the list, a student must earn at least a 3.5 GPA and take at least 12 hours of graded credits.

Camas students include Joshua Bates, Christopher Bettis, Jordan Chabiel, Derrick Derryberry, Michael Digenova, Zachary Eagle, Meredith Hale, Conner Irvin, Savanna Joyce, Megan LaFond, Jennifer Lewis, Michael Long, Omar Lopez, Alex Maszak, Megan Nelsen, David Nguyen, Mikaela Norrish, McKenna Paulsen, Hali Ramirez, Gabrielle Roberts, Marissa Saidy, Tyler Seavey, Emma Smith, Courtney Swan, Madalena Volpi and Reed Wortman.

Washougal students are: Caylem Nunes and Trent Stauffer.