Iris Award winners to be honored

Honorees include a community advocate and a college professor

Temple Lentz

Deena Pierott

Dr. Carolyn N. Long

Judie Stanton

Jody Campbell

Five women have been announced as the newest Iris Award recipients, in recognition of their contributions to Southwest Washington.

They are Deena Pierott, Temple Lentz, Jody Campbell, Dr. Carolyn N. Long and Judie Stanton.

Pierott is the founder of the nonprofit iUrban Teen and president of Mosaic Blueprint. Community advocate Temple Lentz is the host of the “Hello Vancouver!” talk show and a former executive director of the Parks Foundation of Clark County. Jody Campbell is the director of community partnerships for The Columbian.

Long, a political science professor at Washington State University Vancouver, will receive the Iris H-RoC Award, which honors women who have promoted civil discourse, teamwork, collaboration, and cooperation.

H-RoC, a non-partisan political action committee dedicated to the advancement of elected and appointed female leaders in Southwest Washington, is the sponsor of that award.

Stanton, co-chair of the League of Women Voters of Clark County, was honored in 2002 for her service as a Clark County commissioner.

She will receive an Iris Legacy Award, which is presented to a former Iris or Women of Achievement award recipient whose continued leadership remains an inspiration for others.

The Iris Awards ceremony will be held Wednesday, March 8, at the Gaiser Student Center on the Clark College campus, 1933 Fort Vancouver Way, Vancouver. The event begins with a reception at 5:30 p.m., followed by the awards ceremony at 6 p.m.

The event is open to the public, and tickets are available to purchase through the Greater Vancouver Chamber of Commerce at

The cost to attend will be $35 per person. A table sponsorship, which includes eight tickets, can be purchased for $310.