Washougal voters backing mayor, EMS levy

Washougal Mayor David Stuebe has garnered 88% of the votes as of Tuesday night; emergency medical services levy passing with 80% of the votes

timestamp icon
category icon Latest News, News
Washougal Mayor David Stuebe (left) leads his opponent, Gabriel Stone (right) with 88% of the votes as of Tuesday, Nov. 7. (Contributed photos courtesy of David Stuebe and Gabriel Stone)

David Stuebe has earned another term as Washougal’s mayor.

As of Tuesday, Nov. 7, Stuebe, Washougal’s mayor for the past 14 months, had received 1,857 votes (88%) for the Council’s No. 1 position in the Clark County general election, well ahead of his challenger, Gabriel Stone, who garnered 230 votes (11%).

Stuebe, 62, was appointed to the Washougal City Council’s No. 3 position in March 2021, elected to that position and named Mayor Pro-Tem in November 2021, and appointed by his fellow council members as mayor to replace Rochelle Ramos, who moved out of state, in September 2022. 

“(I filed for reelection) because I’m having fun, and I really appreciate what’s happening in Washougal,” Stuebe, a Washougal resident since 2007, told the Post-Record in October. “I have the time and the passion and the motivation to make things happen. … But I can’t do it alone. I talk all the time about how many great organizations we have. I think I’m good for Washougal because I can bring all of this talent together.”

Stone, 22, grew up in Washougal, graduated from Washougal High School in 2019 and attended Clark College. He has worked jobs in several industries, including retail, insurance, and construction, and currently serves as a volunteer for Washougal’s Meals on Wheels program.

“I’m kind of the underdog, but I’m willing to explain to people what I (stand) for,” Stone told the Post-Record earlier this year. “I’ve always been interested in politics, and I’ve always wanted to get involved in my community.”

Three Washougal City Council members ran unopposed for their current seats: David Fritz (position No. 3), Molly Coston (position No. 5) and Ernie Suggs (position No. 7). Michelle Wagner, who currently holds the No. 2 position, ran unopposed for the No. 4 position, which is currently held by Janice Killion, who was appointed to the Council in January 2022.

Tia Roberton, a small business owner and member of Washougal’s parks and cemetery board, filed for the No. 2 position and will be sworn in later this year as the Council’s only new member. 

Emergency medical services levy

Voters approved the city of Washougal’s Proposition 11, a replacement emergency medical services (EMS) levy, in overwhelming fashion, with 1,774 (80%) “yes” votes as opposed to 443 (20%) “no” votes.

The proposition is “aimed at guaranteeing the ongoing provision of healthcare services in emergency scenarios for our residents,” according to the City. The Washougal City Council will assess a levy for collection in 2024 that will result in an EMS levy rate of no more $.50 per $1,000 of assessed property value. For 2024 to 2029, the EMS levy could increase by a maximum of 1% per year but is projected to decrease slightly due to increases in assessed value in the City, according to the City’s data.

The proposition will establish funding for lifesaving services, ensure the retention of adequately trained medical personnel, and maintain the existing levels of efficiency in emergency response times, according to the City.

Washougal School Board

Jim Cooper and Angela Hancock ran unopposed for their Nos. 1 and 2 Washougal School Board positions, respectively. Ida Royer, a program manager and U.S. Department of Defense civilian employee, ran unopposed for the No. 4 position vacated by former board president Cory Chase in September and will be sworn in later this year as the board’s only new member. 

Board members voted Hancock to succeed Chase as board president in October. 

Port of Camas-Washougal

Cassi Marshall ran unopposed for her No. 2 commission seat.