Voters will have several choices in some local races

Washougal City Council draws the most candidates

timestamp icon
category icon News

There were a few surprises following the candidate filing week, which ran last Monday through Friday at 5 p.m.

The Washougal City Council has the largest number of candidates this time around, with all four races drawing at least one challenger to the incumbent. In the case of Position 2, current Councilman Rod Morris will face three challengers.

For Camas Mayor, current Mayor Pro-tem Scott Higgins will be up against Ken Kakuk, who works in the City of Camas engineering department.

The upcoming General Election will mark a first for Camas City Councilman Greg Anderson, who has never had to face a challenger. This year, Andrea Roth Meisgeier will try to unseat the four-term elected official.

At the Port of Camas-Washougal, two pilots who have been outspoken on their views about the future Grove Field Airport will try to oust commissioner Bill Ward, who is serving his first term in office.

Only the school districts — Camas, Washougal and Mount Pleasant — will have little political action this election season as only one person filed for each open position.

The following is a list of candidates who filed for local seats through the Clark County Elections Office:

City of Camas

Mayor: Scott Higgins, Ken Kakuk; City Council Ward 1: Tim Hazen; City Council Ward 2: Linda Dietzman; City Council Ward 3: Greg K. Anderson, Andrea Roth Meisgeier; City Council At-Large: Don Chaney, Margaret Tweet

Washougal City Council

Position 2: Rodney Morris, Mike Moreau, George Kolin, Caryn Plinski; Position 4: Michael Delavar, Joyce Lindsay; Position 5: Jennifer McDaniel, Mark Rohr, Niki Anderson; Position 7: Molly Coston, Connie Jo Freeman, Hugh Roberts

East County Fire and Rescue

Position 1: Gary Larson, Kenny Cochran; Position 4: John E. Clancy, Brooks Cooper; Position 5: George “Jack” Hoober, Thomas Gianatasio

Camas School District

District 3: Connie Hennessey; District 4: Doug Quinn; District 5: Mary Tipton

Washougal School District

District 1: Terrie Hutchins; District 2: Elaine Pfeifer; District 4: Karen Rubino

Mount Pleasant School District

District 3: Kark Kanthak; District 4: Phillip James Caldwell

Port of Camas-Washougal

District 2: Neil Cahoon, Bill Ward, David Luse

In those races with three or more candidates, the Tuesday, Aug. 16 Primary Election will determine which two move on to the Tuesday, Nov. 8 General Election. Those races with only two candidates automatically advance to the General Election.

For more information, visit