Future is now for Camas football

Cardinals and Papermakers clinch titles

A flock of Cardinals ran away with the Clark County Youth Football Junior Division Championship.

Camas broke a 13-13 tie with Hockinson by scoring 19 straight points to win the game 32-13 Saturday, at District Stadium, in Battle Ground.

The Cardinals are Ryan Chatterson, Justin Taylor, Luke Jamison, Parker Shattuck, Ethan Convey, Jadon Popp, Jackson Rehrer, Nathan Criddle, Shayne Swanberg, Daniel Merino, Ryan Cotton, Benjamin Floyd, Jarius Phillips, Micah Janku, Jake Thompson, Tyler Vigil, Josh Barnhart, Jack Martin, William Wood, Jake Silva, Elija Dalton, Matthew Coleman, Brock Thornburg, Ryan Niziol and Owen Jacobs Brown.

These fourth- and fifth-graders finished in second place in 2013. This time around, they won it all.

“We were one step away last year,” said head coach Casey Taylor. “Our theme this year is ‘we will.’ Everything we asked these kids to do, they did it.”

The Vancouver Sharks defeated the Camas Cougars 19-14 in the Rookie championship game.

The Cardinals captured their division title a day after the Camas High School football team won its fifth straight league championship.

“That’s what sports is all about, especially in a community like ours,” Taylor said. “These kids go to the high school games every Friday night. They want to get there some day. I can’t think of a better model to follow.”

The Papermakers put the finishing touches on another 9-0 season with a 49-0 victory against Heritage Friday, at McKenzie Stadium.

Bryan Kelly rushed for 144 yards and scored three touchdowns. Blake Roy and James Price caught touchdown passes from Liam Fitzgerald. Cole Zarcone and Stephen Jesmer added touchdown runs.

As a number-one seed, Camas hosts three playoff games if it keeps winning. The Papermakers open against Tahoma Friday, at 7:30 p.m.

Bellarmine Prep or Kentwood would come to town Nov. 14 or 15.

Bothel and Camas could clash Nov. 21 or 22, for the right to play in the Tacoma Dome. They are currently ranked as two top teams in the state.