League of Women Voters to host online candidate forums July 8-9

Events begin at 6:30 p.m., include candidates vying for Clark County Council, 18th and 49th legislative districts

timestamp icon
category icon Latest News, News, News

The League of Women Voters of Clark County will host virtual candidate forums ahead of the Aug. 4 primary election.

Candidates for three state positions and Clark County Council will participate in forums sponsored by the nonpartisan League of Women Voters of Clark County.

The forums will begin at 6:30 p.m. each evening. Because of restrictions on in-person gatherings due to COVID-19, the forums this year will be conducted via video conference. They will be broadcast live on Clark/Vancouver Television and live-streamed on the League’s Facebook page at

The League canceled a July 1 forum for U.S. Congressional District 3 candidates after too few candidates agreed to participate in the video format.
The League of Women Voters of Clark County is a nonpartisan, grassroots civic organization that encourages informed and active participation in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and influences public policy through education and advocacy. Membership in the League is open to people of all ages and gender identities.

The events will be available at The following forums will be held at 6:30 p.m. Wednesday and Thursday, July 8-9:

Wednesday, July 8

  • Washington’s 18th Legislative Senate: Candidates include Republican incumbent Sen. Ann Rivers, Republican challenger John Ley and Democratic challenger Rick Bell.
  • County Council District 3: Candidates include incumbent John Blom (no party preference) and challengers Karen Dill Bowerman (Republican) and Jesse James (Democrat).

Thursday, July 9

  • Washington’s 49th Legislative District, Positions 1 and 2: For Position 1, participating candidates are Democratic incumbent Sharon Wylie and Republican Justin Forsman. For Position 2, candidates are Democratic incumbent Monica Stonier, Republican Park Llafet, and Troy Potter (Independent).